يدعو RIDE الجمهور للمشاركة في عملية المشاركة التي تركز على إعادة تصور تجربة المدرسة الثانوية

9 يوليو 2021

9 يوليو 2021

رود آيلاند لإعادة تنظيم متطلبات التخرج من المدرسة الثانوية

بروفيدنس ، ري - دعت مفوضة التعليم Angélica Infante-Green اليوم الطلاب والأسر والمعلمين للمشاركة في سلسلة من اجتماعات المشاركة العامة للمساعدة في إعادة تصور تجربة المدرسة الثانوية. تستضيف إدارة التعليم في رود آيلاند (RIDE) هذه الاجتماعات للحصول على الملاحظات والاقتراحات والتعليقات على نهج الوكالة لمراجعة اللوائح الثانوية التي تشمل متطلبات التخرج من المدرسة الثانوية في رود آيلاند. خطة RIDE المقترحة ، والتي تم تقديمها لأول مرة في اجتماع مجلس التعليم الابتدائي والثانوي في يونيو ، ستعمل على إجراء عدد من التغييرات التي تهدف إلى مواءمة المدرسة الثانوية مع الاستعداد الجامعي والمهني حتى يتخرج الطلاب مستعدين للكلية ومستعدون للعمل ، وزيادة حقيقية التعلم ذي الصلة بالعالم لتحسين مشاركة الطلاب ، وإعادة التفكير في كيفية دعم المدارس الثانوية لاحتياجات الطلاب وأسرهم.

قالت مفوضة التعليم أنجليكا إنفانتي جرين: "لقد تغير التعليم على مر السنين - ليس فقط فيما يتعلمه الطلاب وكيف يتعلمونه ، ولكن أيضًا في الطريقة التي يؤثر بها على الحياة التي يعيشها طلابنا". "يجب أن تتطور أيضًا أهدافنا ومعاييرنا لما يشكل تجربة تعليمية ناجحة من رياض الأطفال إلى الصف الثاني عشر. نريد إجراء هذه التغييرات بالتعاون مع المجتمع ، وندعو الطلاب والعائلات والمعلمين للانضمام إلينا لمشاركة أفكارهم والمساعدة في تشكيل ذلك. "

يتم تشجيع سكان رود آيلاند المهتمين بالتعرف على التغييرات المقترحة أو تقديم تعليقات عليها للانضمام إلى اجتماعات المشاركة المجتمعية التي تستضيفها RIDE حتى نهاية الصيف. يمكن العثور على قائمة كاملة بالاجتماعات ، بالإضافة إلى التسجيلات والموارد من الاجتماعات السابقة ، على موقع ويب RIDE.

في الأسابيع الأخيرة ، عقدت RIDE اجتماعين ، حددا مراجعة الوكالة لنظام الشهادات الحالي للولاية وعملية المشاركة المجتمعية. الاجتماع المقبل ، الذي سيعقد يوم الثلاثاء 13 يوليو من الساعة 9:00 صباحًا حتى 11:00 صباحًا في Zoom ، سيكون مناقشة حول مواءمة متطلبات التخرج الثانوي مع متطلبات القبول بعد المرحلة الثانوية.

الاجتماعات مفتوحة لجميع أفراد الجمهور. في أكتوبر ، ستقدم RIDE اقتراحًا منقحًا يعكس ملاحظات المجتمع إلى مجلس التعليم الابتدائي والثانوي للموافقة النهائية.

RIDE Invites Public to Participate in Engagement Process Focusing on Reimagining the High School Experience

Jul 9, 2021

July 9, 2021

Rhode Island to Realign High School Graduation Requirements

PROVIDENCE, RI – Education Commissioner Angélica Infante-Green today invited students, families, and educators to participate in a series of public engagement meetings to help reimagine the high school experience. These meetings are hosted by the Rhode Island Department of Education (RIDE) to seek feedback, suggestions, and comments on the agency’s approach to revising the secondary regulations which include Rhode Island’s high school graduation requirements. RIDE’s proposed plan, which was first presented at the Council on Elementary and Secondary Education’s meeting in June, would make a number of changes meant to align high school to college and career readiness so students graduate ready for college and prepared to work, increase real-world relevant learning to improve student engagement, and to rethink how high schools support the needs of students and their families.

“Education has changed over the years—not only in what students are learning and how they learn it, but in the way it impacts the lives that our students lead,” said Education Commissioner Angélica Infante-Green. “Our goals and standards for what constitutes a successful K-12 learning experience should evolve as well. We want to make those changes in collaboration with the community, and we invite students, families, and educators to join us to share their thoughts and help shape this.”

Rhode Islanders interested in learning about or providing feedback on the proposed changes are encouraged to join the community engagement meetings hosted by RIDE through the end of the summer. A full list of the meetings, as well as recordings and resources from previous meetings, can be found on RIDE’s website.

In recent weeks, RIDE has held two meetings, which outlined the agency’s review of the state’s current diploma system and the community engagement process. The next meeting, which is to be held on Tuesday, July 13 from 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. on Zoom, will be a discussion on aligning secondary graduation requirements to post-secondary admissions requirements.

The meetings are open to all members of the public. In October, RIDE will present a revised proposal that is reflective of the community’s feedback to the Council on Elementary and Secondary Education for final approval.