المعلمون يصعدون

16 أكتوبر 2020

تحديث من المفوض Infante-Green

إنه لشرف حقًا أن أكون جزءًا من مجتمع تعليمي قوي ومرن في رود آيلاند حقق الكثير هذا العام. لم تفعل أي مجموعة أكثر من معلمينا لجعل رود آيلاند قصة نجاح.

من نواحٍ عديدة ، كان عام 2020 هو "عام المعلم" غير الرسمي. هذا ليس لأن أي قادة سياسيين قرروا جعله قانونًا أو أن أي منظمة تبنت المهنة كقضيتها المفضلة. لقد جعلها معلمونا "عام المعلم" من خلال تجسيدهم لروح رود آيلاند من المرونة والصبر واللطف.

عندما ضرب جائحة COVID-19 ، قام مدرسونا بتشغيل عشرة سنتات لضمان استمرار الطلاب في التعلم ، بغض النظر عن السبب. بذل بعضهم جهودًا كبيرة لضمان وصول الطلاب إلى التكنولوجيا ، أو معرفتهم بمواقع الوجبات السريعة ، أو الحصول على نسخة ورقية من جميع مهامهم التي تم تسليمها إلى بابهم. لقد فعلوا كل ما يتطلبه الأمر.

خلال الصيف ، ظل مدرسونا يركزون على حرفتهم وعلى الخطط التي كان قادة المدارس يطورونها لضمان عودة الطلاب إلى المدرسة. قاموا بخياطة الأقنعة لأطفالهم ؛ عملوا في إعداد الفصول الدراسية حتى يصبحوا آمنين قدر الإمكان ؛ وتحدثوا بوضوح ومهنية عن مخاوفهم عندما تحتاج الخطط إلى التحسين.

لم يشهد أي منا شيئًا مثل هذا الوباء العالمي ، وقد صعد مدرسونا لتقديم المساعدة للطلاب بغض النظر عن السبب. في هذه العملية ، قاموا بتغيير المحادثة حول التعليم في رود آيلاند. يُنظر إلينا الآن على المستوى الوطني كقادة ، ولعب المعلمون دورًا رئيسيًا في تحقيق ذلك. يُنظر إلينا الآن على أننا دولة "يمكن القيام بها" تضع الطلاب في المقام الأول ، مع ضمان بقاء مدارسنا آمنة.

هذا إنجاز رائع.

Teachers Step Up

Oct 16, 2020

An Update from Commissioner Infante-Green

It is truly an honor to be a part of a strong, resilient Rhode Island education community that has accomplished so much this year. No group has done more to make Rhode Island a success story than our teachers.

In many ways, 2020 has been the unofficial “Year of the Teacher.” This is not because any political leaders decided to make it a law or any organization adopted the profession as its favorite cause. Our educators have made it the “Year of the Teacher” through their embodiment of the Rhode Island Spirit of flexibility, patience, and kindness.

When the COVID-19 pandemic hit, our teachers turned on a dime to ensure students kept learning, no matter what. Some of them went to great lengths to ensure students had access to technology, knew about the grab-and-go meal sites, or got a hard copy of all their assignments delivered to their door. They did whatever it took.

Over the summer, our teachers stayed focused on their craft and on the plans school leaders were developing to ensure students could get back to school. They sewed masks for their kids; they worked on the classroom set-up until they had it as safe as possible; and they spoke out clearly and professionally about their concerns when plans needed improvement.

None of us has ever experienced anything like this global pandemic, and our teachers have stepped up to deliver for students no matter what. In the process, they have changed the conversation around education in Rhode Island. We are now viewed nationally as leaders, and educators played a key role in making that happen. We are now viewed as a “can-do” state that puts students first, while ensuring our schools remain safe.

That is a remarkable achievement.